If Children Could Vote

 My 8 year old expressed his preference for President very clearly yesterday when he brought home the social studies project below.  He’s got his mind made up, but I suspect he thinks Sen. Obama is just way cooler than some old guy (and maybe ’cause he’s been listening to my husband bash “scumbag Republicans”).  It was a good opportunity to remind him there is still one issue Orthodox Christians cannot and never will agree with Obama about – abortion. 

A tough topic to discuss with a child, but I’ve tried to teach him in a basic way what elective abortion is, why it’s wrong and what the Orthodox Church believes and teaches – simply that unborn babies are children of God from the moment of conception and we don’t kill God’s children.   He tried to give me some “but”, “but” arguments about how Sen. Obama isn’t going to actually be doing that to anyone, what ever that means in an 8 year old’s point of view (which actually sounds a lot like the reasoning some democrats use too).  I had to leave it at “abortion, is murder and it’s wrong for someone, even Sen. Obama, to believe it’s ok”. 

Abortion is the big stumbling block for conservative, pro-life Democrats.  Whether Orthodox Christians, Roman Catholics, Protestants or any pro-life faith group, every four years we’re left in this quandary about our faith, values, and what it means to vote in an election that doesn’t give us any options.  Do you vote for the lesser of two evils?  Do you vote for what is to your mind a candidate who is an out-of-touch war monger but is pro-life?  Or do you vote for the candidate who seems to be saying some of the things that resonate with you except for this one big issue that he may or may not really get a chance to mess with much before his term(s) is up?   In the case of my home state, Texas, I don’t think whichever candidate I vote for is going to make any difference to the state outcome.  Do I vote then on a single issue for a candidate I doubt I’d support on anything else he’d ever do during his entire presidency?  

Aaargh – I hate election years.  

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “If Children Could Vote”

  1. Dn. Timothy Says:

    Obama and Biden are horrid on abortion. I am a scumbag republican, and not ashamed of it. Abortion is a HUGE issue for me. (not offended, don’t worry), I’m actually more of an independent, but I like McCain/Palin. 🙂

    I would be a lot more comfortable with Hillary and anyone else. I’m still shocked Obama beat her. You really don’t want Chicago politics in D.C. 😦

    Also, you are a very independent thinker and I respect you quite a bit. I was surprised you picked up on his rhetoric. The Obama campaign keeps calling McCain out of touch, but I don’t see any proof of that. I was even looking for it.

    I’m also looking forward to it being over. It sure has been a mess trying to sift through all the junk and make a decision.

    I’m normally not politically feisty, but I’ve been keeping up with things a lot more this year. Too much stuff is being said to not find references, etc.

    Anywho, i get a soapbox every so often too. 🙂

  2. Dn. Timothy Says:

    Whew! I am glad you’re talking through abortion with them though! You go mom!

    🙂

  3. tinag46 Says:

    Well, the only thing I can say is that I am suprising myself with my political beliefs. Advancing middle-age and Orthodoxy have made me a total conservative on social issues. I look at life issues so different now that I do feel like I have a split personality. I’m still a tree-hugger and anti-Iraq War dove, but I doubt I’d find a warm welcome from any of the liberal groups on my beliefs about abortion and sanctity of life issues.

Leave a Reply

