Reason #2 Why I’m Orthodox

I can’t decide whether I want to shake my head in disbelief or slap these people silly.  How do you reach out to people who just don’t get it?  And I’m not just talking about the viewers, I’m talking about the idiot clergy who are promoting this idea.  This is the extreme end of religion done “my way”.  That’s nothing new, but Americans seem to have a knack for opening up so many novel avenues of religious weirdness.  Back in 1921 it was the first radio broadcast of a religious program.  In the 50’s, the car culture and cheap gas saw worship popping up in outdoor drive-up movie theaters and supermarket parking lots.   What can you expect in an on-line age?  Apparently Internet communion.   I get choked up watching It’s a Wonderful Life with a big bowl of Blue Bell Ice Cream – that don’t make it eucharistic, sacramental worship.  

The Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America links the weekly celebration of the Divine Liturgy to its website, but no one would ever think this is a substitute for real worship, except in the instances when someone truly cannot go to church, and then it is participation in only the most rudimentary way.   If you are homebound, the Church, in the form of a visiting priest, should come to you.  As Orthodox Christians our sacramental unity is achieved by worshipping together and sharing in the real Body and Blood of Christ.  Not bagels and Crystal Light (or Ritz crackers and grape juice, depending on your own interpretation of leavened vs. unleavened bread).

My 2 cents for what it’s worth – if you can, get off your ass and go to church. 

(For any of you poor, lost souls who do not have access to Blue Bell Ice Cream, I can only say Brenham, Texas and its Little Creamery, are to ice cream lovers what a trip to the River Ganges is for Hindus.  Just float my ashes down a river of Homemade Vanilla and I’m headed for Nirvana.  Just kidding – but I would like Blue Bell served at the mercy or memorial meal after my funeral.)

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

