Happy Thanksgiving To All

turkey

It’s Thanksgiving in South Texas and that means it’s going to hit a seasonal 80 degrees.  Nothing says Thanksgiving around here like cooking turkey and pumpkin pie in shorts and a t-shirt.  I will be talking to a good friend in Santa Fe later on today and they’re expecting snow.  

I am checking off my usual list of Thanksgiving traditions that must be observed or the day isn’t right:

 

 

  1. Watch A  Charlie Brown Thanksgiving  – This one is lost on my kids.  I yelled for them to come watch it on TV and they thought Disney Channel was more interesting.   When there were only three TV channels and no cable, watching a special like this was something you waited for a whole year.  Hence the word “special”. 
  2. Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade  – I could care less about the stupid musical numbers.  It’s all about the big balloons for me.
  3. Cooking and baking for two days straight
  4. Texas A & M – University of Texas football game – This is the only football game I can watch.
  5. Aggie bonfire – I’m an old Ag, ’85.  This tradition will always be treasured, even if lawsuits and liability have killed the giant campus bonfire forever.  Now all we can do is reminisce.  Ags today just don’t know what they’re missing and the longer they go without this tradition, the more dead it becomes. 

Right now I’m checking off my cooking ‘to do’ list.  Turkey, ham, boiled jumbo shrimp, cornbread dressing, gingered beets, lemon-cardamon green beans, gravy, lima beans with bacon, a Texas Sheet Cake, two sweet potato pies (which I unfortunately put in the freezer last night to chill a bit, then promptly fell asleep putting my six year old to bed – we’ll see how well pies freeze), two pumpkin pies (which had a disaster of their own – when I didn’t have enough pumpkin to fill the pie pans.  So, how do you save it?  Fill it with walnuts, make a quick streusel for the top and pray.)  If I still have time I’m going to make a batch of cheddar biscuits.  My sister is bringing apple pies, sweet potatoes and mashed potatoes.  For some reason she likes that job.  My mom is the cole slaw and cranberry-orange relish queen.  She’s eighty-five so that’s easy enough for her to handle.  She reluctantly gave up the Thanksgiving meal to me about six years ago but she still wants to contribute. 

By the way, did I mention all this food is to feed twelve people?  It’ll give me a good reason to post on gluttony.  St. John Climacus has a whole chapter on that.

Barring any more disasters, we’ll eat around 4:00 p.m., but don’t tell one of my nephews that.  He’s a notoriously late arriver for any family occasion.  I told him we’re eating at 3:00 p.m.  My in-laws and sister-in-law are coming from Corpus Christi and should be here by noon.  I’m going to appreciate my mother-in-law’s help.

Well, a very happy Thanksgiving to everyone, especially a few of my special friends out there – RK in Santa Fe, Deacon T in Indiana and Reader B in Oklahoma.  I miss you all very much.  Writing more tomorrow when I try and work off the food hangover.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

