A New Interview With Metropolitan Jonah

Here’s a new Associated Press interview  with Metropolitan Jonah that was out yesterday.  For such a short interview I am pretty impressed that the journalist, Tom Breen, asked questions which made him seem more than a little familiar with Orthodoxy.  A very nicely done interview.

I think it can easily be said that our new Metropolitan is amazing.  I also would bet you there’s never before in the history of the Orthodox Church been a Metropolitan who found the ancient faith in a “hippie bookstore”.    Can’t you just picture our future Metropolitan as a long-haired, bearded college student, wearing a tie-died shirt and chanclas?

I encountered Orthodoxy in a hippie bookstore, picking up a book called the Mystical Theology of the Eastern Church by Vladimir Lossky. It was one of the few books on Orthodoxy available in English at the time. When I read it, I knew it was the truth. I saw that Orthodoxy is the fully integrated experience and vision of what Christianity is all about.

As  a convert I’m always interested in the story of how other converts deal with their non-Orthodox families and the struggles and conflicts they’ve overcome.   I’d love to hear about Met. Jonah’s family and their reaction to his election.  Maybe that’s too “fan club” but I’m sure I’m not the only person who wants to know.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “A New Interview With Metropolitan Jonah”

  1. Laurie Paffhausen Says:

    I am his younger sister and we are thrilled, surprised as well. Since he was a bishop for such a short time, we did not see Metropolitan in the near future. However to set the record straight, as a college student, he never wore a tie died shirt, at least to my knowledge!

  2. tinag46 Says:

    Laurie – I am so flattered that you took the time to submit a comment on this piddly little blog. Whirlwind is probably too small a word for what your whole family has been through, so I appreciate even more the effort you took to read and comment. I think we all tend to put our hierarchs up on a pedestal and think they dropped straight from heaven, but they have families, histories, and stories that make them who they are. It’s important for us to remember our new Metropolitan – your brother – is an ordinary person called to do extraordinary things. My prayers for you, your family and Metropolitan Jonah.

    Thanks for the clarity on the tie dye issue. I can wipe that image from my brain!

  3. Laurie Paffhausen Says:

    The whirlwind surrounds Jim (Metropolitan Jonah) and he’s already had a taste of what is to come. My sense is he is the last person who would put himself on a pedestal or even entertain the thought. No worries, he is going to stay grounded, if not just because that is who he is, but he’s got an annoying sister to keep him that way! Oh, the stories I could tell, however, that shall remain quietly in the background, at least for now! Take care, and feel free to continue to correspond. Laurie

Leave a Reply

