Bridegroom Matins

bridegroom

You’ll no doubt have noticed the odd name of this blog, Cometh at Midnight.  When I was naming it I spent a lot of time working on cute and catchy combinations, something that would show off my wit, and make people think I was so much more clever than I really am.  They all just sounded stupid and nothing I really could stand behind as a personal conviction.   And at some point, this line from the Bridegroom Matins service jumped out at me.  

Behold, the Bridegroom cometh at midnight,
and blessed is the servant whom He shall find watching;
and again, unworthy is the servant whom He shall find sleeping.
Beware, therefore, O my soul, do not be weighed down with sleep,
lest you be given up to death,
and lest you be shut out of the Kingdom!
But rouse yourself, crying: “Holy, holy, holy, art Thou, O our God!”
Through the Theotokos have mercy on us!

 Maybe it’s the Lenten melody it’s sung to – serious, a little sad, contemplative, or just the images of our Lord appearing while we were so careless and unaware.  It makes me think of all the time I’ve wasted, all the opportunities missed.  Lent is almost over and what have I done with myself?  Am I truly ready for the Lord’s appearance out of the empty tomb, and would I be pleased to present myself to him in my current condition?   Or think of it this way.  If you were preparing for a big night out and your date showed up a few minutes early, would you go down to meet him with curlers in your hair, half-dressed, and no make-up?   I thought not.

There is still time, there is nothing stopping us from re-committing ourselves to the struggle even at the last week.   The Lord is always waiting for us to get our act together, so don’t be caught unaware when your date with Christ suddenly occurs. 

extremehumility-htm

Tags:

One Response to “Bridegroom Matins”

  1. David Says:

    [audio src="http://slavicmalechorus.org/Audio/Slavic_Soul/14%20-%20Behold%20The%20Bridegroom%20-%20Slavic%20Soul.mp3" /]

Leave a Reply

