Michael Jackson’s Memorial

casket

Can I open my eyes now? 

What an exploitative  freak show that was!    His poor kids were manipulated throughout their whole lives and it looks like that was just the beginning.  And to think I adored Michael Jackson and the Jackson Five when I was 12.   It was even apparent at that age that Michael Jackson was destined for greater (and regretably, lesser things).  My whole room was covered in posters of Donny Osmond, Michael Jackson, David Cassidy.  I bought every issue of Tiger Beat and answered every quiz and contest.  “Could You Be Michael’s Secret Love?”  “Are You the Key to Unlock Donny’s Heart”.   I even drug my poor, suffering mother to see the Jackson Five (and the Partridge Family and the Osmonds) perform at the Hemisfair Arena in the mid 70’s.  

How stupid and embarrassing my pre-teen adolation seems when I think about it now.  But, hey, after seeing the gag fest in LA today, I’m not feeling quite so stupid anymore.  

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Michael Jackson’s Memorial”

  1. ClassicFilm Says:

    I agree with you totally. The 24/7 media circus this became was ridiculous. Michael Jackson was a talented performer who tragically died at his own hand with prescription drugs (as did Elvis Presley, Judy Garland, Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix, Jim Morrison, and many others). Yes, he was a great performer, but he became too eccentric in his later years. And, as a mother of a teenage boy, I was alarmed by his interviews where he justified sleeping with young boys. He called it “charming,” I call it “potential pedophilia and statutory rape.” Sad that he died, but I’m far sorrier that Farrah Fawcett lost her brave battle to cancer just hours earlier. MJ’s passing has been treated like freakin’ deity-worship, and I’m glad, like you, that much of the hype will start dying down.

  2. tinag46 Says:

    You’re absolutely right to have been concerned ClassicFilm. Aren’t you amazed how quickly Jackson’s pedophilia was written out of the picture over the last week? It’s like he’s suddenly been cleansed and all is forgiven. 5 years ago he was labeled a molesting nut job and today his memory is sainted. You may not be familiar with Orthodox worship and iconography, but I don’t think I’ll have to search too hard in the next few weeks to find a religious icon of Michael Jackson.

  3. Debbie Says:

    whatever.

  4. E OD Says:

    I think your all a bunch of insensitive #$!* (edited out but you get the idea) that only want to focus on one thing and thats “Pedophilia” of which the man was aquitted may I remind you. He didnt sleep in the same bed as the children either, if you will get your facts straight before bashing someone deceased, he slept ON THE FLOOR, openly admitted by the boy that accused him of the act. Im sorry, Michael Jackson loved children, but he sure as hell didnt make love to them or molest them. He helped underprivledged children and parents(probably greedy asses like your selfish selves) saw an opportunity to make alot of money in a hurry and destroy a person that did NOTHING but give back to people..especially kids, kids with cancer and other diseases that their parents couldnt afford the treatments Michael Jackson made that happen, we have lost a wonderful human being in a mean cruel world. and dont bash him for taking any medications when you goto your doctors and get your lortabs and nerve pills and blah blah, your no better. wish it was YOU not HIM…AMEN

Leave a Reply

